Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift – is it as good as the cover suggests? (Wickery #1 Review)

Thank you so much to the publisher & Netgalley for giving me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Overall: 3.5/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 4/5
Writing: 3/5
Plot and Themes: 3/5
Awesomeness Factor: 3/5
Review in a Nutshell: Cast in Firelight is an enjoyable read, and I’m glad I read it, but overall isn’t very memorable.

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Torture (Mention), Sexual Harassment, (Fantasy Drug) Addiction, Animal Death //

Release Date: 1/19/2021
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Page Count: 448
Premise:

Cast in Firelight follows the point of views of two royal heirs who are arranged to be married, Adraa and Jatin. For nine years, they’ve built up a rivalry, trying to outdo the other, but when they reunite after years of not seeing each other, they mistake each other for someone else. Without knowing the truth of who they are, the two must work together to solve a problem plaguing both their kingdoms.

read more for all of my thoughts on cast in firelight

A Vow So Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer – A Thrilling Finale (Cursebreakers #3 Review)

A Vow So bold and Deadly by brigid kemmerer review

Thank you so much to Bloomsbury YA for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review! All thoughts & opinions are my own.

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 4.5/5
Setting: 4/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: A Vow So Bold and Deadly is exactly what I wanted in a finale. It was epic, full of twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat, with amazing characters that I absolutely adored.

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Torture, Chronic Illness, Suicide Mention, War Themes, Murder, PTSD //

Release Date: 1/26/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Page Count: 416
Previous Books: A Curse So Dark and Lonely (#1), A Heart So Fierce and Broken (#2) (click titles to read reviews)
Premise:
A Vow So Bold and Deadly is the final book in the Cursebreakers series, following all four of our previous POV characters as they head towards that inevitable conclusion that we’ve been dreading.

Keep Reading for All of my Thoughts on A Vow So Bold and Deadly

You have A Match By Emma Lord – Addictive, Fun, & Heartwarming (ARC Review)

Caitsbooks Reviews: You Have A Match by Emma Lord

Thank you so much to the publisher for giving me an eARC in exchange for an honest review

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: I cannot express how much I love this book.

[ Related: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord – This Book is Too Good (ARC Review) ]

Release Date: 1/12/2021
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Page Count: 320 pages
Premise:
If you don’t know, this book follows Abby, who discovers she has a long-lost biological sister after they match on a DNA testing site. What happens next is a funny and addictive read, perfect for fans of The Parent Trap!

Read More For All of my Thoughts on You Have A Match!

Ranking + Reviewing the Bridgerton Series

With Bridgerton hitting Netflix, I want to talk about the book that inspired the show!

I read this series earlier this past year and absolutely loved it (with the exception of one of the books), so today I’m excited to attempt to rank each book in the series, while briefly reviewing them.

We’ll be starting with my least favorite and working towards my favorite, so let’s get started!

#8. The Duke and I

Rating: 1 Star
Order in the Series: #1
TW: Sexual assault, rape, child abuse (in past)

“Many a woman has been ruined by a single kiss.” 

This book had a lot of promise. I really enjoyed parts of it, but there was one scene that completely ruined it for me. If you want to know all of my detailed thoughts on this, I wrote an in-depth review on just The Duke and I last week. In the end, this scene was extremely disappointed and made me hate this book. And I’m extremely disappointed to see that they kept this scene in the show.

Read More for my thoughts on the rest of the bridgerton books!

My Issue With The Bridgertons Series – The Duke and I by Julia Quinn (Review)

Overall: 1/5 Stars
Characters: 3/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 1/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Duke and I had the potential to be an amazing book, but one scene ruined it all for me.

[ Related: Reading & Reviewing Every Tessa Dare Book in 1 Month (Part 1) ]

// Content Warning: Child Abuse & Neglect, Rape //
Trigger Warning: I will be discussing the handling of rape and non-consensual sex a lot in this review

Release Date: 1/5/2000
Publisher: Avon Books
Page Count: 384 pages
Premise:

The Duke & I is the first book in the Bridgertons series, following Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset. Daphne is the eldest daughter of the Viscount, but the fourth of her eight siblings. Despite knowing most of the young eligible gentlemen in London, she is struggling to capture their interest when it comes to romance. Meanwhile, her eldest brother’s best friend, Simon, the Duke of Hastings, has no interest in marriage or society. However, when he and Daphne meet, they decide to fake a courtship. This way she can be viewed as desirable, and Simon can avoid the various mothers pushing their daughters at him. It sounds like a great plan, but they didn’t prepare for love.

Read More For all of my thoughts on The Duke And I