Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift – is it as good as the cover suggests? (Wickery #1 Review)

Thank you so much to the publisher & Netgalley for giving me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

Overall: 3.5/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 4/5
Writing: 3/5
Plot and Themes: 3/5
Awesomeness Factor: 3/5
Review in a Nutshell: Cast in Firelight is an enjoyable read, and I’m glad I read it, but overall isn’t very memorable.

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Torture (Mention), Sexual Harassment, (Fantasy Drug) Addiction, Animal Death //

Release Date: 1/19/2021
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Page Count: 448
Premise:

Cast in Firelight follows the point of views of two royal heirs who are arranged to be married, Adraa and Jatin. For nine years, they’ve built up a rivalry, trying to outdo the other, but when they reunite after years of not seeing each other, they mistake each other for someone else. Without knowing the truth of who they are, the two must work together to solve a problem plaguing both their kingdoms.

read more for all of my thoughts on cast in firelight

A Vow So Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer – A Thrilling Finale (Cursebreakers #3 Review)

A Vow So bold and Deadly by brigid kemmerer review

Thank you so much to Bloomsbury YA for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review! All thoughts & opinions are my own.

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 4.5/5
Setting: 4/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: A Vow So Bold and Deadly is exactly what I wanted in a finale. It was epic, full of twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat, with amazing characters that I absolutely adored.

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Torture, Chronic Illness, Suicide Mention, War Themes, Murder, PTSD //

Release Date: 1/26/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Page Count: 416
Previous Books: A Curse So Dark and Lonely (#1), A Heart So Fierce and Broken (#2) (click titles to read reviews)
Premise:
A Vow So Bold and Deadly is the final book in the Cursebreakers series, following all four of our previous POV characters as they head towards that inevitable conclusion that we’ve been dreading.

Keep Reading for All of my Thoughts on A Vow So Bold and Deadly

My Top 21 Most Anticipated Book Releases of 2021 (Plus 100+ more!)

My Top 21 2021 Releases and 100+ more

2021 is bringing us a lot of amazing books. There’s no way to talk about all of them, but today I want to discuss a 21 of the books I’m dying to read. In order to include most of my favorites, I’ve broken up my list into 4 parts:

  • New Series – These are the first books in a completely new series
  • Standalones – These books are not continuing a series, or starting a new one
  • Sequels – These are sequels and companions to previously published books
  • Untitled – These are books that don’t have titles (or in most cases, confirmed release dates) yet

I also included lists of more releases for each category, because there are just too many good books coming out.

If you want to see all of the 2021 releases on my radar, I keep a spreadsheet documenting them! I update it fairly regularly, so click here to check it out!!

Note: The spreadsheet is mainly for my personal use. Columns F-I are for my own cataloguing, so they may not be that useful for you. However, the the rest of the sheet hopefully will be!

[ Related: My Top 10 Favorite Reads of 2020 ]

New Series

6. Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart

Release Date: 4/20/21
Series: Witches Steeped in Gold #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: HarperTeen

This book follows two witches, sworn enemies, who must work together to take down a mutual threat. It’s the first book in a Jamaican-inspired fantasy duology and I am so ready to fall in love with it.

Read more to see the rest of my list!

My Top 10 Favorite Reads of 2020

I read 145 books in 2020, and today I want to talk about my 10 favorite reads of the year.

This was extremely hard to narrow down, because so many amazing books came out last year, but I managed to do it! However, this list is in no particular order (except maybe #1 and #2, because they were truly amazing).

There were also a lot of books I wanted to read this year, that I just didn’t get the chance to. So, if you’re wondering why a popular book isn’t included, it’s probably because I didn’t get to pick it up yet. But don’t worry! I’ll be discussing my 2020 TBR soon, and you might see a few of those books there.

Also, if you’re interesting in hearing all of my thoughts on one of the books, just click the rating! It will take you to my full review of the book, if I have one.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

10. The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

Page Count: 326
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: 2/25/20
Rating: 5 Stars

Tricia Levenseller is one of my favorite authors, and The Shadows Between Us reminded me why. This is an addictive, fast-paced fantasy standalone following a girl determined to marry the king so she can kill him and take the crown for herself. I loved the characters and the romance, and I’m so excited to see what Tricia Levenseller writes next!

[Related: 19 Best Book Releases of 2019 ]

Keep Reading to see the rest of my list!

You have A Match By Emma Lord – Addictive, Fun, & Heartwarming (ARC Review)

Caitsbooks Reviews: You Have A Match by Emma Lord

Thank you so much to the publisher for giving me an eARC in exchange for an honest review

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: I cannot express how much I love this book.

[ Related: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord – This Book is Too Good (ARC Review) ]

Release Date: 1/12/2021
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Page Count: 320 pages
Premise:
If you don’t know, this book follows Abby, who discovers she has a long-lost biological sister after they match on a DNA testing site. What happens next is a funny and addictive read, perfect for fans of The Parent Trap!

Read More For All of my Thoughts on You Have A Match!