Caitsbooks Reviews The Shadows Between Us - 5 Stars

The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller – The Slytherin Romance We All Need In Our Life (Review)

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 4/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Shadows Between Us is a fun, addictive novel that lived up to all of my expectations- a feat I worried would be impossible.

“They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart. And they never will.”

(This is literally the first line in the book how can you not want to read more?!?!)

[ Related: Giveaway + Review: Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie – So. Addictive. (Blog Tour) ]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, Slut Shaming, Murder //

Release Date: 2/25/2020
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Page Count: 326
Premise:

This book has been described as a Slytherin romance, and honestly? There’s no better way to describe it. Alessandra has a goal: marry the Shadow King, then kill him and take his kingdom. The challenge? She isn’t the only one who wants him dead, and she must keep him alive long enough to make it to the author.

“I know when I’ve been beaten, and I have barely even started.”

Read more for all of my thoughts on this book!!

Continue reading
Bone Crier's Moon Blog Tour

Giveaway + Review: Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Crier’s Moon #1) by Kathryn Purdie – So. Addictive. (Blog Tour)

Bone Crier’s Moon is one of my most anticipated releases of the year, and I can’t believe that I finally get to talk about it! As part of the blog tour, I’ll be sharing my review, my dream cast, and my favorite quotes!

[ Related: The Winter Duke by Claire Eliza (Blog Tour) (ARC Review) ]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Animal Death, Animal Sacrifice, Murder, Kidnapping/Abduction //

Title: The Winter Duke
Author: Kathryn Purdie
Publisher: HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen
Release Date: March 10th 2020
Page Count: 480
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis

Bone ​Criers have a sacred duty. They alone can keep the dead from preying on the living. But their power to ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld comes from sacrifice. The gods demand a promise of dedication. And that promise comes at the cost of the Bone Criers’ one true love.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, a mysterious famille of women who use strengths drawn from animal bones to ferry dead souls. But first she must complete her rite of passage and kill the boy she’s also destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Yet when he finally captures one, his vengeance will have to wait. Ailesse’s ritual has begun and now their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Sabine has never had the stomach for the Bone Criers’ work. But when her best friend Ailesse is taken captive, Sabine will do whatever it takes to save her, even if it means defying their traditions—and their matriarch—to break the bond between Ailesse and Bastien. Before they all die.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Kobo | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from Bone Crier’s Moon here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: Bone Crier’s Moon is possibly my favorite book of the year (so far). It’s addictive and fun, with fantastic characters and a fantastic world. I can’t wait for book 2, Bone Crier’s Dawn!

Read more for my review, dream cast, and my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Continue reading

Giveaway + Review: The Winter Duke by Claire Eliza Bartlett – Court Intrigue + Amazing Queer Rep! (Blog Tour)

I’m really excited to talk about The Winter Duke today! As part of the blog tour, I’ll be doing my normal review, plus discussing my favorite quotes, and creating a dream cast!! There’s quite a bit to talk about, so let’s get started!

[ Related: Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland – Magic & Mystery (Blog Tour) (ARC Review) ]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, War Themes, Murder, Illness //

Title: The Winter Duke
Author: Claire Eliza Bartlett
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 3rd 2020
Page Count: 432
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBT, Queer, Magic, Retellings, Romance
Synopsis

An enchanted tale of intrigue where a duke’s daughter is the only survivor of a magical curse.

When Ekata’s brother is finally named heir, there will be nothing to keep her at home in Kylma Above with her murderous family. Not her books or science experiments, not her family’s icy castle atop a frozen lake, not even the tantalizingly close Kylma Below, a mesmerizing underwater kingdom that provides her family with magic. But just as escape is within reach, her parents and twelve siblings fall under a strange sleeping sickness.

In the space of a single night, Ekata inherits the title of duke, her brother’s warrior bride, and ever-encroaching challengers from without—and within—her own ministry. Nothing has prepared Ekata for diplomacy, for war, for love…or for a crown she has never wanted. If Kylma Above is to survive, Ekata must seize her family’s power. And if Ekata is to survive, she must quickly decide how she will wield it.

Part Sleeping Beauty, part Anastasia, with a thrilling political mystery, The Winter Duke is a spellbinding story about choosing what’s right in the face of danger.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Kobo | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from The Winter Duke here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 4.5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 4/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Winter Duke surprised me in so many ways. This book is heavy with court intrigue and betrayal, and will leave you feeling chilled yet thrilled.

Read more for my full review, dream cast, and my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Continue reading
havenfall blog tour

Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland – Magic & Mystery (ARC Review)(Blog Tour)

Today, I’m very excited to be talking about Sara Holland’s newest book, Havenfall! I was lucky enough to be a part of the blog tour, so today I will not only be bringing you a review, but also talking about some of my favorite quotes!

[ Related: Underrated YA Fantasy Books Everyone Needs to Read! (Slideshow) (Recommendation Nation) ]

Havenfall Cover

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, Murder, Illness, PTSD, Kidnapping/Abduction //

Title: Havenfall
Series: Havenfall #1
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Release Date: March 3rd 2020
Page Count: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Synopsis

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

But this summer, the impossible happens–a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She’ll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she’s letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie–no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . .

Sara Holland takes the lush fantasy that captured readers in Everless and Evermore and weaves it into the real world to create a wholly captivating new series where power and peril lurk behind every door.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from Havenfall here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 4/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 4/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 4/5
Review in a Nutshell: Havenfall will pull you into a world of betrayal, romance, mystery, and magic.

Read more to see my full review of Havenfall, plus my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Continue reading
Reading and reviewing every Tessa Dare novel

Reading & Reviewing Every Tessa Dare Book, In One Month (Part 1)(Mini-reviews)

Yes, you heard me right.

On January 5, 2020, I began my mission to read every Tessa Dare book. Now, I didn’t actually have that as a goal when I picked up Do You Want To Start A Scandal, but once I started, I couldn’t stop. And now we’re here.

First, the truth:

  • I haven’t read every Tessa Dare book yet. I actually plan on making this a two-part series. This is part 1, where I talk about the 14 of her books I have read. I will add a part 2 once I finish the rest.
  • I had already read 3 of her books before starting this, but I do plan on rereading them for part 2!
  • All the books in part 1 were read in a month, but there might be a break between part 1 and part 2. Doing this made me fall a bit behind in my TBR, so I need to take some time to catch up before continuing.
  • I will be including any novellas that are sold separately from anthologies.
  • There are a lot of books to talk about, so the reviews won’t be my normal, full length reviews. Instead, they’ll be quick mini reviews. I may make full length reviews for some of the books eventually, but not today.

I’m sorry for the clickbait-y title, but if you can forgive me, we should probably get started on those reviews!

[ Related: 12 Summer Romances (6 YA + 6 Adult) ]

Read more to see what Tessa Dare books I read, and my thoughts on all of them individually, as well as as a whole!

Continue reading