Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland – Magic & Mystery (ARC Review)(Blog Tour)

havenfall blog tour

Today, I’m very excited to be talking about Sara Holland’s newest book, Havenfall! I was lucky enough to be a part of the blog tour, so today I will not only be bringing you a review, but also talking about some of my favorite quotes!

[ Related: Underrated YA Fantasy Books Everyone Needs to Read! (Slideshow) (Recommendation Nation) ]

Havenfall Cover

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, Murder, Illness, PTSD, Kidnapping/Abduction //

Title: Havenfall
Series: Havenfall #1
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Release Date: March 3rd 2020
Page Count: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Synopsis

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

But this summer, the impossible happens–a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She’ll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she’s letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie–no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . .

Sara Holland takes the lush fantasy that captured readers in Everless and Evermore and weaves it into the real world to create a wholly captivating new series where power and peril lurk behind every door.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from Havenfall here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 4/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 4/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 4/5
Review in a Nutshell: Havenfall will pull you into a world of betrayal, romance, mystery, and magic.

Read more to see my full review of Havenfall, plus my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Read More

Underrated YA Fantasy Books Everyone Needs To Read (Recommendation Nation)

This all began on tumblr. I was looking for some posts about a specific book series, only to realize that no one else seems to be talking about it. So, I decided that if that fandom doesn’t exist, I will create it myself.

Thats when this slideshow was born. I posted it to tumblr, and just prayed that people would see how great these books are and join the fandom with me.

I’ve included the slideshow down below, but I’ll go into more detail after on why these books were chosen, as well as mention a few other books that deserve more hype.

Read more for even more book recommendations, plus a transcript of the slideshow!

[ Related: The Queen’s Assassin (The Queen’s Secret #1) by Melissa de la Cruz – My Expectations Were Way Too High (ARC Review) ]

Read More

Favorite January Reads & February TBR – Tessa Dare took over my life

January 2020 was a year on it’s own. Finally, February is here, and with is, much to do. The semester has officially started for me, but that won’t stop me from getting to my towering TBR.

I actually managed to read quite a bit back in January. I finished 11 books, and hopefully I’ll be able to do the same in February. Today, I’m going to talk about my favorites of those 11 January books, and what books I’ll hope to love in February.

Read more to see my favorite reads of January, plus my February TBR!

Read More

Top 9 February 2020 Book Releases

It’s my birthday tomorrow, so what better way to get ready for it than by listing my most anticipated releases of this month!!

We’ve got some strong contenders this month, so let’s skip the talking here and just jump straight to the books you need to add to your TBR!

[ Related: 20 Most Anticipated Releases of 2020 (Plus 120+ More)(Recommendation Nation)]

All The Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Release Date: 2/4/2020
Series: All The Stars and Teeth #1
Genre: YA Fantasy (Pirates)
Publisher: Imprint
Page Count: 384

When Princess Amora’s demonstration to prove her mastery of soul magic goes awry, she strikes a deal with a pirate, Bastian. In return for helping her prove she is fit for the throne, she must help him reclaim the magic that was stolen from him. I cannot tell you how long I’ve been waiting for this book. I can’t believe it’s here and I can finally read it!

Read more to see my full list of my most anticipated February 2020 releases!

Read More

The Queen’s Assassin (The Queen’s Secret #1) by Melissa de la Cruz – My Expectations Were Way Too High (ARC Review)

Caitsbooks Reviews The Queens Assassin 2.5 stars

All quotes are taken from the ARC and are subject to change.

Overall: 2.5/5 Stars
Characters: 2/5
Setting: 2/5
Writing: 3/5
Plot and Themes: 2.5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 2/5
Review in a Nutshell: This was… disappointing. I had such high hopes- which might have been my own fault- that this book failed to meet. Or really come near.

”Just because it’s a story doesn’t mean it’s not true.”

[ Related: 20 Most Anticipated Releases of 2020 (Plus 120+ More)(Recommendation Nation)]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, War Themes, Murder, Imprisonment //

Release Date: 2/4/2020
Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons
Page Count: 384
Premise:

The Queen’s Assassin is the first book in a new fantasy duology by Melissa de la Cruz. It follows two protagonists, one being Caledon Holt, the Queen’s personal assassin, who inherited a blood vow from his father to find a lost magic scroll. The other protagonist is Shadow, a girl who dreams of being an assassin herself, and a member of the Guild like her family. When the two team up on a mission in a neighboring country to root out a plot against the Queen, they find themselves fighting a growing attraction.

“He is the Queen’s Assassin. And no one is safe from his blade.”

Read more for all of my thoughts on The Queen’s Assassin!

Read More