Caitsbooks Reviews The Raven and the Dove - 4.5 Stars

The Raven and the Dove (The Raven and the Dove #1) by Kaitlyn Davis – A Great Start To An Addictive Series

Thank you to Netgalley and the author for an ARC in exchange for an honest review! All quotes are taken from the ARC and are subject to change.

Overall: 4.5/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 4.5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Raven and the Dove is full of loyalty, love, and betrayal. With a complex and fascinating world, this book will transport you into a classic tale of forbidden love and lies that just might tear your heart out. You’ve been warned.

“How fragile unbreakable bonds can be.”

[ Related: Interview with Kaitlyn Davis, Author of The Raven and The Dove! ]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, War Themes, Mental Illness, PTSD, Kidnapping/Abduction //

Release Date: 3/9/2020
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Page Count: 506
Premise:

The Raven and the Dove is a retelling of Tristan and Isolde, which is an amazing folk tale and honestly deserves way more retellings than it has. Thank God for Kaitlyn Davis, giving this story the recognition it deserves.
This book takes place in a fantasy world, where there are those who live on floating islands above the mist covering their planet and those who live below. Princess Lyana Aethionus lives above, the Dove princess of the House of Peace. On the dawn of her courtship trials, she saves a Raven, who she believes to be the prince of the House of Whispers.
Rafe is the bastard son of the dead Raven king. When his brother, Prince Xander, asks him to take his place in the courtship trials and bring back a mate for him deserving of their kingdom, he agrees. However, after an incident with a dragon, he is saved by a dove who has the same illegal magic as him. When the courtship trials begin, he must fight to prioritize his kingdom and his family over his heart.
Meanwhile, below, a king is desperate to save his people, no matter what the cost.

“Everyone has secrets.”

Read more for all of my thoughts on The Raven and the Dove!

Continue reading

Giveaway + Review: The Winter Duke by Claire Eliza Bartlett – Court Intrigue + Amazing Queer Rep! (Blog Tour)

I’m really excited to talk about The Winter Duke today! As part of the blog tour, I’ll be doing my normal review, plus discussing my favorite quotes, and creating a dream cast!! There’s quite a bit to talk about, so let’s get started!

[ Related: Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland – Magic & Mystery (Blog Tour) (ARC Review) ]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, War Themes, Murder, Illness //

Title: The Winter Duke
Author: Claire Eliza Bartlett
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 3rd 2020
Page Count: 432
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBT, Queer, Magic, Retellings, Romance
Synopsis

An enchanted tale of intrigue where a duke’s daughter is the only survivor of a magical curse.

When Ekata’s brother is finally named heir, there will be nothing to keep her at home in Kylma Above with her murderous family. Not her books or science experiments, not her family’s icy castle atop a frozen lake, not even the tantalizingly close Kylma Below, a mesmerizing underwater kingdom that provides her family with magic. But just as escape is within reach, her parents and twelve siblings fall under a strange sleeping sickness.

In the space of a single night, Ekata inherits the title of duke, her brother’s warrior bride, and ever-encroaching challengers from without—and within—her own ministry. Nothing has prepared Ekata for diplomacy, for war, for love…or for a crown she has never wanted. If Kylma Above is to survive, Ekata must seize her family’s power. And if Ekata is to survive, she must quickly decide how she will wield it.

Part Sleeping Beauty, part Anastasia, with a thrilling political mystery, The Winter Duke is a spellbinding story about choosing what’s right in the face of danger.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Kobo | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from The Winter Duke here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 4.5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 4/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Winter Duke surprised me in so many ways. This book is heavy with court intrigue and betrayal, and will leave you feeling chilled yet thrilled.

Read more for my full review, dream cast, and my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Continue reading
havenfall blog tour

Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland – Magic & Mystery (ARC Review)(Blog Tour)

Today, I’m very excited to be talking about Sara Holland’s newest book, Havenfall! I was lucky enough to be a part of the blog tour, so today I will not only be bringing you a review, but also talking about some of my favorite quotes!

[ Related: Underrated YA Fantasy Books Everyone Needs to Read! (Slideshow) (Recommendation Nation) ]

Havenfall Cover

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, Assault, Murder, Illness, PTSD, Kidnapping/Abduction //

Title: Havenfall
Series: Havenfall #1
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Release Date: March 3rd 2020
Page Count: 320
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Synopsis

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

But this summer, the impossible happens–a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She’ll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she’s letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie–no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . .

Sara Holland takes the lush fantasy that captured readers in Everless and Evermore and weaves it into the real world to create a wholly captivating new series where power and peril lurk behind every door.

Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | iTunes | Barnes & Noble | BookDepository | Google Books | Indiebound

Read an excerpt from Havenfall here!

Quick Stats

Overall: 4/5 Stars
Characters: 4/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 4/5
Plot and Themes: 4/5
Awesomeness Factor: 4/5
Review in a Nutshell: Havenfall will pull you into a world of betrayal, romance, mystery, and magic.

Read more to see my full review of Havenfall, plus my favorite quotes!!

Follow Me: [Bookstagram] [Twitter] [Tumblr] [Goodreads]

Continue reading
Caitsbooks Reviews The Queens Assassin 2.5 stars

The Queen’s Assassin (The Queen’s Secret #1) by Melissa de la Cruz – My Expectations Were Way Too High (ARC Review)

All quotes are taken from the ARC and are subject to change.

Overall: 2.5/5 Stars
Characters: 2/5
Setting: 2/5
Writing: 3/5
Plot and Themes: 2.5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 2/5
Review in a Nutshell: This was… disappointing. I had such high hopes- which might have been my own fault- that this book failed to meet. Or really come near.

”Just because it’s a story doesn’t mean it’s not true.”

[ Related: 20 Most Anticipated Releases of 2020 (Plus 120+ More)(Recommendation Nation)]

// Content Warning: Violence, Death, War Themes, Murder, Imprisonment //

Release Date: 2/4/2020
Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons
Page Count: 384
Premise:

The Queen’s Assassin is the first book in a new fantasy duology by Melissa de la Cruz. It follows two protagonists, one being Caledon Holt, the Queen’s personal assassin, who inherited a blood vow from his father to find a lost magic scroll. The other protagonist is Shadow, a girl who dreams of being an assassin herself, and a member of the Guild like her family. When the two team up on a mission in a neighboring country to root out a plot against the Queen, they find themselves fighting a growing attraction.

“He is the Queen’s Assassin. And no one is safe from his blade.”

Read more for all of my thoughts on The Queen’s Assassin!

Continue reading
Caitsbooks Reviews The Stars We Steal

The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne – All Drama, Not Much Plot (ARC Review)

All quotes are taken from the ARC and are subject to change

Overall: 3.25/5 Stars
Characters: 3/5
Setting: 3.5/5
Writing: 4/5
Plot and Themes: 3/5
Awesomeness Factor: 3/5
Review in a Nutshell: The Stars We Steal is a fun, enjoyable book with plenty of drama, easy to read in one sitting (which I might have done).

“I was chasing dreams like starlight.”

[ Related: Brightly Burning by Alexa Donne (Review) ]

// Content Warning: Assault, Torture Mention, Phobia, Murder Mention, Homphobic Comments, Illness //

Release Date: 2/4/2020
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Page Count: 400
Premise:

This book is really The Bachelor/Bachelorette but in space. Okay, well it’s actually a retelling of Persuasion, but I know almost nothing about Persuasion (I know- sacrilege) so I can’t speak to how good of a retelling it is. But instead of talking about the stories and ideas this book is inspired by, let’s talk about the story this book is really about.

The Stars We Steal follows Princess Leonie (who prefers to be called Leo) who is entering the Valg, where the wealthiest bachelors and bachelorettes enjoy a month on a luxury spaceship and try to find their future spouse. Leo knows she needs to marry someone wealthy enough to save her family from financial ruin, but she would prefer to not marry anyone. At least, that’s the case until her first love, Elliot- now a successful captain- returns to join the Valg.

“Like a compass aligning itself. He was my true north.”

Want to read all of my thoughts on The Stars We Steal? Read more!

Continue reading