You have A Match By Emma Lord – Addictive, Fun, & Heartwarming (ARC Review)

Caitsbooks Reviews: You Have A Match by Emma Lord

Thank you so much to the publisher for giving me an eARC in exchange for an honest review

Overall: 5/5 Stars
Characters: 5/5
Setting: 5/5
Writing: 5/5
Plot and Themes: 5/5
Awesomeness Factor: 5/5
Review in a Nutshell: I cannot express how much I love this book.

[ Related: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord – This Book is Too Good (ARC Review) ]

Release Date: 1/12/2021
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Page Count: 320 pages
Premise:
If you don’t know, this book follows Abby, who discovers she has a long-lost biological sister after they match on a DNA testing site. What happens next is a funny and addictive read, perfect for fans of The Parent Trap!

Plot

When I first heard the synopsis for this book, I couldn’t help but laugh because it hit a little too close to home. Just a year and a half ago, I discovered I had a biological older sister that I never knew about (and there are even more similarities beyond that that I won’t get into here). I was excited to see how Emma Lord would portray this trope (which has become so personal to me), and I absolutely adored her take on it. She captures the emotions and the struggles of this so incredibly well. I love how a lot of this book focuses on the relationship between Abby and Savvy (the two sisters), as well as their relationships with their parents. I really enjoyed watching them grow and uncover the secrets of their pasts.

The Characters & Relationships

We also have some great side characters and a romance plot. Each of the side characters was just as well-developed as our main cast, and I came to love them all. The romance plotline is also amazing. This book has a cute friends-to-lovers romance at the center, and I love Leo, the love interest, more than life. He’s just so sweet and adorable!! I’ll be adding the phrase “Benvolio-ing” into my daily vocabulary now.

Writing

Outside of the great cast of characters, another standout aspect of this book is the writing. If you read Emma Lord’s debut novel, Tweet Cute, then you might be familiar with her hilarious style, but if not, what are you doing with your life? Pick up Tweet Cute right now!! Or maybe pick up You Have A Match first… Either way, both of these books have Lord’s trademark humor and wit that had me laughing throughout the entire book.

Pros- Interesting premise (but I might be biased there), funny, cute, lighthearted, great characters
Cons- ??? I have no idea. I just really love this book
Overall- 5/5 stars.
In the end, if you’re looking for a funny and cute read, with plenty of heart at its core, pick up You Have A Match. You won’t regret it.

If You Liked You Have A Match, I’d Recommend:

Who is your favorite YA contemporary author?
Emma Lord is quickly becoming one of mine!

- cait







Add To Your Goodreads Shelf
Purchase From: AmazonBarnes and NobleIndiebound

Join our book club!
[Discord] [Facebook Group] [Goodreads] [Instagram]

Follow Me: 
[TikTok] [Twitter][Bookstagram] [Facebook
[Tumblr] [Twitch][Youtube][Goodreads] 

One thought on “You have A Match By Emma Lord – Addictive, Fun, & Heartwarming (ARC Review)

  1. Pingback: My Top 21 Most Anticipated Book Releases of 2021 (Plus 100+ more!) – Cait's Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.