My Top 10 Book Releases of November 2020

Almost all of these types of posts include me rambling about how shocked I am that it’s already [insert month here] and wow time really does fly by. But this month I’m trying to break the habit.

…. okay but seriously how is it November?!

Sorry, sorry. I had to. Time has lost all meaning this year and I’m constantly confused how it still moves forward while it feels like we’re all trapped in this endless purgatory caused by the pandemic.

On that note- its time to talk book releases! November has some great books coming out and I want to talk about my top 10!!

Just a reminder, if you want to see my most anticipated releases for every month, I have a spreadsheet where I document them! Click here to view it

This spreadsheet covers 2016-2021, and I’m constantly updating it! (But be warned- the older back you go the less extensive the sheet is because I was just getting into the book community then and didn’t know where to find information on new releases)

[Related: My Top 10 Book Releases of October 2020]

Note: There are in order of release date

November 3

Instant Karma by Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Contemporary Fantasy
Page Count: 400
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Instant Karma follows Prudence, and overachiever who is suddenly gifted the power to deal out instant karma. However, there’s one person her power’s never work well on: Quint. Her lab partner. Her mortal enemy. This book seems really cute and fun, and Marissa Meyer is such an amazing author that I’m sure it’s going to be amazing!

November 6

A Deal with the Elf King by Elise Kova

Genre: Fantasy Romance
Page Count: 338
Publisher: Silver Wing Press

Elise Kova’s latest book is a fantasy standalone pitched as perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted! It follows a girl who is chosen to the bride of the Elf King, and is taken to his land. Forced to be queen, she doesn’t expect to find a kingdom that only she might be able to save.

November 10

Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur

Genre: Contemporary Romance (New Adult)
Page Count: 384
Publisher: Avon

New adult queer romcom with fake dating; what more could you want? When Darcy’s brother sets her up, she lies as says it went well. So now, she needs Elle to play along. They agree to fake this relationship through the holidays, but what will happen when they start to develop actual feelings for each other?

Rebel Rose (The Queen’s Council #1) by Emma Theriault

Genre: YA Fantasy (Retelling)
Page Count: 352
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Rebel Rose asks the question: what happens after the happily ever after? Belle broke the Beast’s curse, but France is on the brink of revolution, and it’s only a matter of time until the rebellion comes to them. Torn between her past as a commoner and her future as royalty, Belle must decide what she’s willing to do to protect those she loves. This premise sounds absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to see what happens!

Chasing Lucky by Jenn Bennett

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 416
Publisher: Simon Pulse

I actually already had the opportunity to read this book and let me tell you- its great. Chasing Lucky follows Josie, who is moving back to her hometown, and knows she isn’t there to stay. But then she runs into Lucky, her childhood best friend and now the resident bad boy. When everything goes wrong at a party, leaving Josie in trouble, Lucky takes the blame, and Josie wants to understand why.

Rent A Boyfriend by Gloria Chao

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Page Count: 320
Publisher: Simon Pulse

This book follows a girl, Chloe, who is desperate to appease her parents. So, she rents a boyfriend, Drew. However, things get more complicated when she starts to fall for the real Drew, who her parents will never approve of. I’m so excited to see Gloria Chao’s take on this trope!!

November 17

The Burning God (The Poppy War #3) by R. F. Kuang

Genre: Fantasy
Page Count: 560
Publisher: Harper Voyager

The Burning God is the final book in The Poppy War trilogy! I haven’t read this series yet but every single person who has read it is obsessed, so I’m dying to read it myself.

These Violent Delights (These Violent Delights #1) by Chloe Gong

Genre: YA Historical Fantasy (Retelling)
Page Count: 464
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

I honestly feel like I talk about this book all the time yet also never enough. These Violent Delights is a Romeo & Juliet retelling that takes place in 1920’s Shanghai. It follows Juliette and Roma, the heirs of two rival gangs who are forced to work together to save their city. And yes, it’s enemies to lovers.

November 24

Ruinsong by Julie Ember

Genre: YA Fantasy (LGBTQ, Retelling)
Page Count: 368
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Ruinsong is a sapphic Phantom of the Opera retelling, which is honestly all I need to know to want to read it. But in case you need to hear more: it’s a fantasy, following two girls, a mage who uses her voice to torture the enemies of the queen, and a noble who has ties to an underground rebellion.

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air #3.5) by Holly Black

Genre: YA Contemporary Fantasy
Page Count: 200
Publisher: Little Brown, Books for Young Readers

We’re back in Elfhame with this new novella following Cardan. This book includes a look into Cardan’s childhood, as well as some scenes from the trilogy from his point of view! Also, there’s a story that takes place after The Queen of Nothing!! I am so excited to see what’s included in this book, and to remind myself how much I love Cardan.

Click to view the full image!

If you want to buy any of the books I mention on this list, I created a list over on Bookshop.org*. Click here to check it out!

Bookshop is a great resource to buy books that also supports independent bookstores!

*I receive a 10% commission on all sales from my Bookshop shop

Honorable Mentions:

What November release are you excited to read?

- cait








Join my book club!
[Discord] [Facebook Group]

Follow Me: 
[TikTok] [Twitter][Bookstagram] [Facebook
[Tumblr] [Twitch][Youtube][Goodreads] 

One thought on “My Top 10 Book Releases of November 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.